Government Restrictions for Crossing the Border of the Czech Republic

Last update on July 2, 2020.

The state of emergency ended on May 17. Conditions for entry to the territory of the Czech Republic and quarantine measures are defined by the Ministry of Health. 

  • In Moravian-Silesian hotspots in Karviná and Frýdek-Místek areas, nose/mouth cover is obligatory, from June 30, size of events was restricted to 100 partcipants in one sector, both indoors and outdoors, 2 m distance between persons and strict hygienic rules have to be kept, visits are banned in hospitals and social care facilities, PCR testing of new patients, employees of these facilities is obligatory, bars and restaurants are obliged to close at 23.00 and open at 8.00. Cross-border workers are obliged to submit a negative PCR test result (not older than 4 days) when entering the Czech Republic and then submit a negative test result every ten days, or undergo 14-days quarantine.
  • From 15 June 2020, citizens of the European Union with confirmation of temporary residence or permanent residence from countries with a low risk of COVID-19 contagion (green color on the map) and foreigners with granted long-term residency in a European Union member state with a low risk of COVID-19 contagion (green on the map) are permitted to enter the Czech Republic. Czech citizens returning from countries with a low and medium risk of COVID-19 contagion (green and orange) do not have to report this fact to the regional public health authority after entering the Czech Republic.
  • Overview of travel arrangements (COVID-19). The system of traffic lights is applicable from June 15 shows the level of risk - red meaning requirement of a negative PCR test result for returning Czech residents or foreigners entering the territory of the Czech Republic, or a mandatory quarantine. Orange meaning requirement of a negative PCR test result for foreigners entering the territory of the Czech Republic. Green meaning no limits to travel, no PCR testing, no quarantine set from Czech authorities (but there may be limitations set by governments of respective countries).


List of green countries as of July 1, 2020 (including the common EU list)

1. Czech citizens, EU+ citizens, third country nationals with residence permit issued by the Czech Republic:

If the entering person stayed in the last 14 days for more than 12 hours in a red zone country, a negative PCR test result at a respective Czech hygienic station within 72 hours, or a 14-day quarantine is obligatory upon entering the Czech Republic. If the entering person stayed less than 12 hours in the red zone country or stayed in a green zone country for more than 12 hours, no PCR testing, quarantine applies upon entry.


2. Citizens of third countries in red zone without residence permit issued by the Czech Republic, Citizens of third countries in green zone without reciprocity towards the Czech Republic and without residence permit issued by the Czech Republic, Third country citizens with temporary (incl. long-term visa) and long-term residence in a red zone third country or in a green zone country without reciprocity towards the Czech Republic:

Are banned from entry to the Czech Republic. Attention: citizens of red zone third countries are not allowed to enter the Czech territory based on visa-free travel or short-term visa issued by another EU country.




Foreigners employed in the Czech Republic



  • Visa agenda at Czech embassies has resumed, depending on the epidemiological status in the respective countries, i.e. where the government measures in respective countries have enabled it (the situation must allow opening of visa centers with higher concentration of people, or restrictions on free movement were lifted, etc.). Updated list of embassies with visa service in operation is available here.

  • Out of third countries, from July 1, visa agenda is fully functional only at Czech embassies in Serbia and Montenegro, including employee cards. No restrictions are applied, reciprocity with CZ is in place (these two countries are green on the list).

  • Effective from July 13, short-term schengen visas, long-term visas and long-term stay applications must include certificate of non-infectiousness (official form to be prepared by the Ministry of the Interior).
  • Generally, employee cards are issued primarily within Government programs of economic migration.
  • After the end of the state of emergency, foreign nationals were not sanctioned for staying in the Czech Republic without a valid residence permit for another 60 days (starting from May 17, 2020). At this time, they do not even have to deal with the expired validity of the stay at the offices of the Ministry of the Interior or the Police of the Czech Republic. This means foreigners without valid visas will be able to stay in the Czech Republic until July 16, the deadline was prolonged to September 16 for short-term visas granted for the purpose of employment or seasonal work. More. 
  • In order to ensure a smooth return of foreign nationals to the country of origin, the legality of their stay is certified during border control by a special stamp in the travel document at the time of departure from the Czech Republic. The Czech Republic informed all states about this procedure.
  • To facilitate smooth return this certificate of legality of stay in the form of the stamp in the travel document was introduced from May 4, 2020. The stamp does not ensure entry into the territory of other states. The possibilities of transit are always determined by their own measures.
  • The validity of this measure is limited in time and applies only to persons who were legally residing in the Czech Republic at the time of the declaration of the state of emergency! Foreign nationals who want to continue their legal stay in the Czech Republic and their long-term visa or long-term residence permit expires must apply for its extension - you can find more information here.
  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs on the Stay of Foreign Nationals after the End of State of Emergency

Information by the Ministry of the Interior.


See also a summary on the Government official website. 


Members of the American Chamber of Commerce in the Czech Republic can receive up-to-date summary of border measures by emailing


About Amcham

country profile

Twitter feed