Michal Nebeský of Citibank re-elected to serve as a president of the American Chamber of Commerce in the Czech Republic in 2015-16

During the annual General Assembly held on June 18, 2015 at National Technical Museum in Prague , Michal Nebeský, Citibank Country Officer for Czech Republic,  was re-elected to serve as the President of the American Chamber of Commerce in the Czech Republic (AmCham). Last year Nebeský succeeded former AmCham president Dan Tok when he became the Minister of Transport.

“I am grateful to the membership and board for the chance to continue our work,” Nebeský said. “The keyword for next year is effective networks bringing more business, better economic policies, and more active communities.”

The president´s initiatives are supported by the Executive Committee of the AmCham Board of Directors. Each of them is responsible for certain area of AmCham activities. This year the Executive Committee consists of the following vice-presidents:

  • Václav Novotný of Merck Sharp & Dohme;
  • Michal Chour of Radisson Blu Alcron Hotel;
  • Sanjiv Suri of Zátiší Group and
  • Jan Brázda of Constellation.

“We want to try to build more consensus in health care around the goal of increasing healthy life years. We can’t get there by incremental steps; innovation is the only answer,” explained Novotný about AmCham activities in the area of health care.

Michal Chour and Sanjiv Suri assured they will put their effort to help put cities at the center of national economic strategies. “A national economic strategy must include development goals for Prague and Brno.” said Chour. Suri added, "We need to create the ecosystem that not only retains our best brains in the country but also attracts the best brains in the region and beyond. we need to spend our limited resources in a simply very clever way."

Jan Brázda will emphasize the importance and necessity of business leaders who lead by an example. “We want to bring our top talent together to address opportunities and problems,” Brázda said, “We need the business community to play a greater role in shaping the Czech Republic of tomorrow.”

This year 3 new faces joined the Board of Directors: Josef Karásek od Coca-Cola Ceská republika, Milan Vašina of T-Mobile Czech Republic and Jan Zurek of KPMG Ceska republika were elected to serve as board members for the first time.

The Board of Directors consists of 17 member representatives elected by the membership: the remaining members are: Erik Best of Fleet Sheet/E.S. Best; Ladislav Haškovec of Honeywell; Michal Klimeš of SILICON GRAPHICS; Radek Kaskiewicz of 3M Cesko; Josef Kotrba of Deloitte Advisory; Michael Mullen of PwC Legal; Magdalena Soucek of EY; Branislav Šebo of IBM Ceská republika and Biljana Weber of Microsoft.

The review of activities and successes during past membership year 2014-15 can be found at current Year-End Report here.


See photos of General Assembly on flickr.

About Amcham

country profile

Twitter feed